Natural Hair Care

July 16, 2008 at 9:45 pm 1 comment

This is part of Works for Me Wednesday hosted at Shannon’s blog–go there to read all the great ideas!

I am trying to make a conscience effort to replace things in our home with ones that are not made of chemicals. I have begun to try some of the homemade cleaners, etc. My family is not always cooperative, as you can well imagine. But here’s one that I’ve found that IS working for us!

I read about “No Poo” several months ago. You can read more here, or here, or here and it has nothing to do with your bowels! 🙂

I have somewhat done “no poo” and somewhat just replaced my shampoo with a natural alternative. But I’m finding that in one month I “wash” my hair about 6 times compared to at least 20 times a month before!

What you need: I use 2 clear bottles that are made for homemade dressings or sauces…like ketchup and mustard squirt bottles. You will also need some baking soda, apple cider vinegar, and some essential oil(alternative listed below).

Mixing: Bottle #1 is filled with warm water (about 1 1/3 cup) and 2-3 teaspoons of baking powder. Bottle #2 is filled with warm water (about 1 1/3 cup), one tablespoon of Apple Cider Vinegar, and a teaspoon of a natural conditioner or a few drops of essential oil. The conditioner that I had purchased was from Burt’s Bees and I used this at the beginning because I didn’t have any essential oil. It helps give it a nicer smell. Use whichever one you want!

Using: Use bottle #1 and squirt as much as half the bottle for those with really long hair and massage into scalp. Let sit a minute or so and then rinse thoroughly. Now squirt about the same amount from bottle #2 all over your hair making sure to get it all to the ends. Let this sit a couple of minutes then rinse well. That’s it!

A few notes: I try to keep my hair brushed with a natural brush more often now to spread the oil down the hair away from my scalp. This will help but won’t be great when you first start this! Your oil glands will begin to realize that you are not going to be washing and stripping all the oil off every day and they will begin to produce less oil. But the first week or so is a little rough–just keep your hair tied up! And lest you think I only bathe 6 times a month now–I am still taking the same number of showers I just don’t always wash my hair. When I’m not washing my hair I just massage my scalp and let the warm water run over it!

Not only is this a much healthier alternative–it is easy on the budget!

Entry filed under: Works for Me Wednesday.

Protecting your home library facebook

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. jenuinejen  |  July 16, 2008 at 10:06 pm

    Cool idea. I’ll give it a shot. I’m a little concerned about smelling like vinegar, but I guess that’s what the essential oil is for.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Psalm 78:4

We will not hide them from their children, Telling to the generation to come the praises of the LORD, And His strength and His wonderful works that He has done.

