Thirteenth Birthday

December 7, 2007 at 1:39 am Leave a comment

My husband and I decided that 13th birthdays at our house are to be a special. Here is a post I made a couple of years ago (on a blog prior to this one). Thought I’d repost….we are now trying to figure out what to plan for my son’s that is coming up in two months. 

September 18, 2005
Labor Day week we took off from school to prepare for two special birthday parties. My youngest turned one year old and we celebrated with a dinner luau style. My oldest child turned 13 and we celebrated in a different way.

I have a book entitled “Spiritual Milestones” and it discusses ways to celebrate, well, spiritual milestones. It made me think about being intentional in passing on a spiritual heritage to my children. Well, a Rite of Passage ceremony is outlined in the book that got me started and thinking, but mine didn’t really look quite like theirs.

First my husband and I sent out a request to family and friends to write a letter to Ashley for her birthday and sharing any wisdom, encouragement, etc to her. I put these together in a scrapbook type book to give to her at a brunch I planned. I invited grandmas and aunts, and friends of mine that were all to be godly examples to Ashley to the brunch.

Here is how the brunch went:
1. First we ate a delicious spread complete with waffles, crepes, fresh fruit, bacon, sausage, egg & cheese quiche, hashbrown casserole, and biscuits. (All prepared by a friend that happens to be a great cook!)
2. Then I thanked everyone for coming and let them know the reason I asked them to come. I knew that the world would surround Ashley with all sorts of examples, but I wanted to put godly examples in front of her. I reminded them that Titus 2 says the older women are to train the younger women and told them today was the day they could act on that!
3. I had an idea for them to share on the back of each of their placecards. For example: “Share any practical helps you’ve discovered for making Bible reading a regular, refreshing habit.” and “Share about your own family and what made the most impact on your spiritual growth.” (these I did get out of the spiritual milestone book, I just used them in a different way than they had laid out) This turned out to be a neat time of sharing.
4. I then shared with Ashley the book of letters for her to read later.
5. We then went around the table and prayed for her.
6. Last, she opened gifts. (I didn’t really intend for people to bring gifts, but they did anyway…and who doesn’t like a gift!)

It turned out to be a very special time, although I could have done without all the tears!

Entry filed under: Misc, My Family.

healthy transitions? update on the Family Birthday Party

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Psalm 78:4

We will not hide them from their children, Telling to the generation to come the praises of the LORD, And His strength and His wonderful works that He has done.

