healthy transitions?

December 6, 2007 at 11:37 am Leave a comment

I guess a bit of an update is in order since it’s been so long since I posted. I started a part-time job that has thrown my schedule for a loop! School has been a mess and I look forward to after the holidays when I know things can get back to a normal schedule!

Also, we’ve had such allergy/sinus issues here that we finally decided to try an elimination diet. From what I can tell there are many ways to do this. I bought this book on Amazon a couple years back to do this but we never made it through. You can read a small summary at this website from the same author. We eliminated the major foods that cause allergies including wheat, dairy, corn, sugar, and citrus. We also tried to stay away from foods with lots of preservatives and colorings, but we didn’t totally make it on this. After 7 days we (me and 2 kiddos that are most bothered) felt much better. So we began to reintroduce items one day at a time to see if we had any type of reaction. We started with milk…affected 2 out of 3…sinus issues started returning and stomach cramps. Next day we just did wheat…slight reaction to 2 out of 3. The next day I figured our bodies needed a break so we didn’t eat any of the common allergy foods. The next day we tried corn…major reaction from 2 out of 3…sinus drainage, headache, swollen lymph nodes. Of course, the 2 out of 3 was a different mix of people each day. So….now what? That’s what we are wondering. As we read labels for every food over this 2 week period we realized that avoiding corn seems virtually impossible!!! Corn products must be super cheap because they use them in everything. I’ve basically decided that I have to start cooking more…from scratch…with better, safer ingredients. It’s been about 3 weeks since we finished the elimination diet. We’ve just gone back to eating whatever we want while I try to figure out what in the world we ARE going to start eating. It all seems overwhelming for the moment!

I did just get my Christmas gift…a KitchenAid Mixer! I figure with all this cooking I’m fixing to be doing…I need all the help I can get!

Entry filed under: Misc, My Family.

a Homeschooler for Huckabee Thirteenth Birthday

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Psalm 78:4

We will not hide them from their children, Telling to the generation to come the praises of the LORD, And His strength and His wonderful works that He has done.

