Help with Spell to Write & Read

October 10, 2006 at 10:51 pm Leave a comment

I stumbled across something I read quite a while back, but it is great help if you are just starting with Spell To Write & Read. “Getting Started 101” by Liz FitzGerald. It will walk you through setting up your materials, where to start reading, how to start a master learning log, and more.

I set my materials up a little different than her. I keep all my SWR materials in a rubbermaid tub kind of like a letter box. I cut off the spine of my SWR and WISE books had the covers laminated and then coil bound. I laminated my phonogram cards and spelling rule cards and I keep them rubber-banded in the tub. I have a pencil pouch for pencils in this tub, a small personal whiteboard, handwriting paper, learning logs, etc. I find this much easier than a couple of big binders. Although we do have a binder on the shelf to hold the Diagnostic tests, daily quizzes, and tests. So each school day when it is time for SWR I just pull out our bucket and sit it beside us and we get to work!

Entry filed under: teach.

Discipline, balance, misc. Scheduling update

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Psalm 78:4

We will not hide them from their children, Telling to the generation to come the praises of the LORD, And His strength and His wonderful works that He has done.

