Desiring and Delighting in God

September 26, 2006 at 9:29 pm Leave a comment

It is Good to Thirst is a great word over at challies.com. I have just purchased the book “Desiring God” by John Piper partly due to the reviews through the challies and the discerningreader.com site. At first, I was puzzled at why so many seemed to be recomending this book as one of their favorites. I guess it seemed to me to be a book preaching how to be happy, but I think I missed the point entirely! As God so often does, as soon as I said this to myself He began to show me how I was delighting myself in so many other things. Good things, relationships, children…but not in Him. I became dissappointed in so many of my things and how they were not going the way I wanted. But I needed to be dissappointed to see that I was not delighting in the Lord! So now I eagerly look forward to curling up in bed tonight to start reading the book “Desiring God” and prayerfully set my heart to desire and delight in Him.

Entry filed under: Prepare your heart.

Carnival of Homeschooling Discipline, balance, misc.

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Psalm 78:4

We will not hide them from their children, Telling to the generation to come the praises of the LORD, And His strength and His wonderful works that He has done.

