Scheduling

September 15, 2006 at 10:32 pm 2 comments

The dreaded “S” word…to me and the kids, anyway! God has been showing me that I need to be more disciplined in my life. (Kind of like when you pray for patience 😦 …not exactly fun) Unfortunately I have a son who is very much like me and it has been quite a challenge to get him to be more diligent in his daily work. I have read and tried (and still trying) the book “Manager’s of Their Homes” which is a good book about scheduling. Well that book is for another post!

Since I thought that book was good, I looked at their new book about chores. I have not purchased this new book, but had someone describe the general idea to me. It seems that the chores are on cards in a vinyl clip-on pouch (like a name badge). The child must do the top chore card, flip it to the back, and do the next chore card until all the chores are done for the day.

So, I decided to try the same concept to his daily schedule. I got the vinyl name badge holders and a lanyard at the local office supply store. Here’s a picture:

I have a card for each school subject with the time it should be started listed at the very top. I also have how many minutes for this subject. Now, I will say that on days we have started on time…it has gone VERY well. But if we don’t start on time in the morning, then the results are not nearly as good. It’s like we are behind from the get go…so we just don’t care…because we will never catch up. (As I look at my messy house…I know the feeling!)

With all the distractions at my house lately…I’m hoping things will calm down and we can get into a groove. I think once he starts to memorize the schedule and get used to it, that it will get easier. I’ll have to post an update in a month or so and see how it is still going.

Entry filed under: Organization.

Bookmarks Lies homeschooling moms believe

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dana  |  September 17, 2006 at 1:17 am

    um, yeah. Schedules. I’ll have to schedule in one of those somewhere. My biggest weakness, and arguably something we should improve on a bit here. And I’ll get really motivated, and then the morning sickness kicks in. I won’t get into details, but this morning, I was happy that the mess in the front room did not grow at all.

    Great goals I set for housecleaning, huh?

    Reply
  • 2. Anna-Marie  |  September 19, 2006 at 1:19 pm

    Stephanie,

    how is this working for you? I was also intrigued by their chores book. I think that seems like a great idea. Please update soon!

    Anna-Marie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Psalm 78:4

We will not hide them from their children, Telling to the generation to come the praises of the LORD, And His strength and His wonderful works that He has done.

