History studies

August 27, 2006 at 4:16 am Leave a comment

We are using Truthquest Ancient Egypt/Greece book this fall and plan to use the Ancient Rome book for the Spring semester. I have studied some of the Principle Approach and some of it has come into play in my Philosopy of Education. It is a hard thing to describe and seems hard to implement…but I’m trying!

I made sheets up based on Katherine Dang’s Key Sheets from the Judah Bible Curriculum or found in the book “Guide to American Christian Education.” I made some for my younger students to draw and write what they can as we discuss. Then I made out a sheet to walk my older students through writing a 3-5 paragraph paper about the key.

We read the Truthquest commentary together and then my kids read different books over the next 2-3 days. I read aloud to my 7yo and my 11 & 13yo sometimes listen in, but they have books to read on their own as well. After we’ve finished our reading we spend two days discussing our reading and doing about 2 key sheets…depending on the topics for that week.

Here’s my sheets if you would like to see them, they are all in pdf format so you will need Adobe Acrobat Reader.
Younger Students:
Key Person
Key Event
Key Group
Key Document
Key Object (this is one I made up to use for inventions, or other significant items)

Older Students:
Key Sheets (they are all in one file)

and here’s a link to Melissa’s blog where she explains what they are doing with Truthquest

Entry filed under: teach.

Daily Devotional time Journaling Bible

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Psalm 78:4

We will not hide them from their children, Telling to the generation to come the praises of the LORD, And His strength and His wonderful works that He has done.

