Daily Devotional time

August 24, 2006 at 11:32 pm 2 comments

I thought I’d share what me and my kids do for our time of devotion in the morning. This is what we started doing early this year…although, we weren’t very faithful through the summer. I ask my older kids (11 & 13) to read at least one chapter in the bible every day. They can pick wherever they want to read…but they must start with chapter 1 and keep reading in that book until they finish. Then they are to journal a few sentences about something they learned, a command they should obey, a promise from God, or just whatever.

Since we started using the SOW curriculum this fall for school, I have changed their journaling up a little. They are to write PRAYS letters each day as outlined in SOW. Each letter stands for something different. So on Monday it is a Praise letter; Tuesday a Repent letter; Wednesday an Ask letter; Thursday a Yield letter; and Friday a Supplication letter. The directions for each letter ask them to think about their bible reading when answering the questions and writing their prayer letters. Hopefully this will help give them a model by which to learn to pray.

I just started reading Acts this week, and am trying out using the prayer letters. I’m not sure I like doing them myself, but I do like it for them. In the past I have tried reading a portion of Psalms and rewrote a few verses in my own words as a Praise to God and then journaled about whatever else I read and what I thought I could learn from the passage. I think I like this better…but we’ll see.

Entry filed under: Prepare your heart.

Study Bible History studies

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Missy  |  September 2, 2006 at 10:08 pm

    I also use SOW. This is my second year HSing,but my first year with SOW. Are you using all of so or only the daily devotions? We are following all of it. Glad to find you! Seeking Him, Missy P.S. I’m pretty new to blogging.

    Reply
  • 2. Stephanie  |  September 2, 2006 at 10:21 pm

    thanks for visiting Missy! We are not using all of the SOW…mainly bible, although we somewhat follow the literature and english sections. For history we are using Truthquest, and for Science Apologia for my oldest (8th grade) and Christian Kids Explore Biology for my elementary aged boys.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Psalm 78:4

We will not hide them from their children, Telling to the generation to come the praises of the LORD, And His strength and His wonderful works that He has done.

