Recommended book: Discovering the Bible for Yourself

May 10, 2006 at 3:33 am Leave a comment

I bought the book “How to Study your Bible” by Kay Arthur a few months back. It is a great book that really teaches you how to study the Bible for yourself. I have often been involved with ladies bible study, sunday school, etc. but they would always use a book. I never really learned to just study the Bible. Well this is the book to start with.

I did start searching though for some blank charts and some more help (although I just need to dive in!!). Well come to find out she has put together another book as a companion. “Discovering the Bible for Yourself” is another great one from Kay Arthur. I found it at my local Christian bookstore, but you can click the amazon link on the side if you want to check it out.

“Discovering the Bible for Yourself” gives you helpful introductions, directions for what to look for, at-a-glance chart sfor writing chapter themes, etc. for EVERY book of the Bible.

I am planning to use the Student of the Word curriculum with the kids this fall and we will be studying Genesis through Deuteronomy. I hope to use Kay Arthur’s books to help me begin to study these chapters this summer to prepare myself.

Entry filed under: Study.

Wisdom of this World? Why homeschool?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Psalm 78:4

We will not hide them from their children, Telling to the generation to come the praises of the LORD, And His strength and His wonderful works that He has done.

