Is the Bible your handbook for life?

April 15, 2006 at 2:25 am Leave a comment

II Timothy 3:16-17 “All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: That the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works.” To understand this verse fully I defined key words and read cross-referenced verses. Then I rewrote the verses in my own words applying what I learned. I used crosswalk.com’s bible study tools. I typed in the II Timothy verse with KJV Strong’s concordance numbers. Then I was able to just click on the following words and it would show me the definition, as well as many other things. Inspiration = God moved the people who wrote the Bible (2 Peter 1:21) Profitable = a help Doctrine = teaching, instruction (Romans 15:4 “were written for our learning”) Reproof = to show what is wrong, conviction Correction = restoration to an upright or right state Instruction = the act of teaching Righteousness = condition acceptable to God Perfect = complete Furnished = to complete; to furnish perfectly Works = act, deed, thing done My paraphrase: The entire Bible is given to us by God. God spoke to the men who wrote the Bible. The bible is a help for teaching us, for showing us what is wrong, to correct us, to teach us how to be holy. God’s Word will complete me and equip me for all God wants me to do. Do you want to be complete and equipped for all God wants you to do? I do. And God says His Word will do this for me! Could we read this verse and replace “man of God” with the name of one of our children? All Scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: That Ashley may be perfect, thoroughly furnished unto all good works. Do you want your children to be complete and equipped for all God wants them to do? Well, God says His Word will complete them and equip them for what He wants them to do. We will not go wrong training our children in God’s Word!

Entry filed under: Basics (good place to start).

About me Is the Bible your handbook for life? Part 2

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Psalm 78:4

We will not hide them from their children, Telling to the generation to come the praises of the LORD, And His strength and His wonderful works that He has done.

